22.2 C
Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Chief Minister of Karnataka role sorted after interference of Sonia Gandhi


New Delhi : After a long discussions between the Congress officials, Karnataka Congress Chief, DK Shivakumar has reluctantly accepted the Deputy Chief Minister’s post after the Former Party president Sonia Gandhi’s intervention. As per the sources, Congress party has choosen Siddaramaiah elected as Chief Minister of Karnataka, with DK Shivakumar as his Deputy Chief.

When DK Shivakumar demanded the Chief Minister post, In the last evening deal was fixed, after Sonia Gandhi spoke to him and resolved the solution.

DK Shivakumar supporters said he sacrificed his decision and decided to be the Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka based on the party’s interest.

Chief minister of karnataka candidates Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar from Congress party
Chief minister of karnataka candidates Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar from Congress party

After the key Meeting of Congress Legislative Party (CLP), they will made official announcement this evening in Bengaluru.

Most of the MLAs in Congress supports Siddaramaiah and the party has been struggled to get DK Shivakumar on board to place Siddaramaiah in the top post.

Yesterday DK Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah had met the Congress party General Secretary KC Venugopal, Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, and Rahul Gandhi yesterday discussion for the Chief Minister post.

While speaking to the media outside Kharge’s residence, a decision would take 2 days and another a day of 24 hours for announcing the cabinet, by Congress leader Randeep Singh Surjewala.

DK Shivakumar been insisting for the top post as he is working over the last four years after Congress coalition with HD kumarswamy’s Janata Dal Secular goverment had collapsed by mass switching the party MLA’s.

While Siddaramaiah to be the leader of Karnataka Government with mass support and completed a full term in 2018, DK Shivakumar is known for his Strong Capabilities, as Congress troubleshooter and resourceful during the tough times.

As we know in the assembly elections of Karnataka State, HD Janata Dal-Secular won 19 seats and Bharatiya Janata Party won 66 seats. While the Congress party won the elections with 135 seats in the total of 224 assembly members.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories